FIU - Education , Florida International University

Facebook Twitter Flickr Youtube

Impact of Giving

Scholarship Recipients

Click here to see previous years 2012-13 Scholarship Recipients

2013-2014 Scholarship Recipients


Ziff Family Scholarship

Dr. and Mrs. Sanford Ziff have graciously pledged their support for an endowment that truly reflects their commitment to the future of education.  Their generosity has been acknowledged by the College in the naming of its building, and the couple remains among the College’s dearest friends.  They provide annual scholarships to Ziff scholars who are academic leaders in their undergraduate career.


Cancio, Giselle Catena, Alexandra Ochoa, Aliana White, LaShae
Adin, Monique Cancio, Giselle Catena, Alexandra Ochoa, Aliana White, La'Shae

Andrea Castillo Scholarship

The Castillo Family established the scholarship in memory of Andrea Castillo, a talented and exceptional student that dreamt of being a teacher. Scholarships are awarded to Miami-Dade County Public School graduates who are pursuing a degree in Elementary Education. To learn more about Andrea please visit:


Hutchinson, Kevin J. Perez, Geraldine Brown, Brittany Joiseus, Cynthia
Hutchinson, Kevin Perez, Geraldine Brown, Brittany Joiseus, Cynthia

Robert R. Bellamy Scholarship Endowment

In honor of his grandfather, Robert R. Bellamy II created the Robert R. Bellamy Memorial Scholarship. The establishment of this endowed scholarship addresses the need of teacher preparation in areas of critical shortage.  Robert R. Bellamy II passed away in 2006.  Mr. Bellamy and his grandfather’s legacy will live on through this endowed scholarship. 


Barreiro, Adriam Blank Gonzalez, Gloria Blank Hansen, Brigitta
Barreiro, Adrian Boxman, Talia Gonzalez, Gloria Guzman, William Hansen, Brigitta


Blank Pombo, Jose Rago, Wendy
Perlett, Michael Pombo, Jose Rago, Wendy

Christine and Robert Grosse Scholarship

A yearly scholarship in honor of Alan Grosse's parents Christine and Robert Grosse (Christine is an educator). The scholarships awards $1000 to a full-time student in the College of Education.  Most recently, Alan Grosse has generously provided another gift, to be known as the "Aunt Ruth Rosow Education Scholarship", which will also award $1,000 to a full-time student in the College of Education. All funds will be matched by General Electric, the establishment where Alan Grosse is currently employed. Applications will be available in the spring.


Douglas, Solange White, LaShae
Douglas, Solange  
White, La'Shae

Esther Winick Memorial, Itard Foundation Scholarship Endowment

The Esther Winick Memorial Scholarship was established in 1991 through the generous support of the Itard Foundation and family and friends to provide funding for student scholarships for candidates who are currently employed teachers in Miami-Dade or Broward County who are enrolled in courses in the College of Education for the purpose of obtaining certification in any specialty in the field of Special Education. 


Radice, Vanessa
Radice, Vanessa

BellSouth Scholarship Endowment (now AT&T)

This endowment was established by BellSouth Corp (now AT&T) to provide scholarships and fellowships to undergraduate and graduate students who demonstrate a commitment to learning technology and are pursuing a degree in the College of Education.


Cooper, Teo Hoyte,Jennifer Rago, Wendy Blank
Cooper, Teo
Hoyte, Jennifer
Rago, Wendy
Urbina, Josue

Mark Blum Memorial Scholarship

This endowment was established by Sally F. Samuels in memory of her nephew, Mark Blum, an FIU alumnus and Miami-Dade County Public School teacher.  Through her gift, Ms. Samuels honors Mark’s commitment to students and his many years of service to the teaching profession.  Ms. Samuels passed away in 2006. 


Collins, Joshua Louis, Samuel
Collins, Joshua
Louis, Samuel

Jane O. McQuire Scholarship Endowment

Ms. Carrie Otto created this scholarship in honor of her mother, Jane O’ McQuire, a Miami-Dade County Public School teacher for over 17 years.  Jane’s lifelong dedication to enhancing opportunities for underprivileged areas inspired the “magnet” gifted program at Naranja Elementary School in Homestead.  The scholarship is for students with an interest in special education and/or gifted students.


Samole-Prager, Naomi
Samole-Prager, Naomi

Mayor Alex G. Fekete Scholarship Endowment

Former Pembroke Pines Mayor Alex G. Fekete, in his commitment to education and our youth, founded this scholarship to support educators and education’s future.  Through the Mayor Alex G. Fekete Annual Golf Tournament, named “A Tradition for the Millennium,” with the gracious support of corporate sponsors, participants and volunteers, the event proceeds were contributed to establish and grow a scholarship endowment in support of students and teachers of Pembroke Pines. 


Avilez, Ayla Chavez, Janet Whitten, Krystel
Avilez, Ayla Chavez, Janet Whitten, Krystel

Lennar Corporation Scholarship Endowment

Lennar Corporation has long been committed to supporting our community and is a company that proudly gives back.  The creation of the Lennar Scholars Endowment will help highly talented and accomplished future educators to achieve their dreams of teaching our children.  Lennar’s generosity reflects high regard for education and dedication to ensuring a well-prepared workforce for the community through our College of Education students. 


Blank Collins, Joshua
Amir Kiaei, Yalda Collins, Joshua

Frost Professors

The Frost Professorship in Education was established in 1991 by an endowed gift from Patricia and Phillip Frost for the purpose of honoring faculty in the College who distinguish themselves and inspire excellence. 

2000-2001                                            Daniel L. Dustin
2001-2002                                            Miguel Angel Escotet
2002-2003                                            Lizabeth Dixon-Krauss
2003-2004                                            Abbas Tashakkori
2004-2005                                            Wendy Cheyney
2005-2006                                            David Chang
2006-2007                                            Martha Pelaez
2007-2008                                            Patty Barbetta
2008-2009                                            Erskine Dottin