FIU - Education , Florida International University

Facebook Twitter Flickr Youtube

Project Panther LIFE

The primary goal of Project Panther LIFE is to provide a comprehensive postsecondary program and system of supports through partnerships to eligible students with ID through a well-planned, structured, and individualized curriculum and related program and community experiences focusing on academics and instruction, social activities, employment, and independent living.

Slideshow Image 1

The principal objectives of Project Panther LIFE include:

  1. The recruitment, preparation, and retention of ten (10) students with ID that meet project eligibility criteria;

  2. Initial and ongoing advising, academic mentoring, peer coaching support, and job coaching;

  3. The development of self-determination and advocacy skills for students and families enrolled in the program;

  4. The development and generalization of independent living skills in the community;

  5. The ongoing evaluation of the program leading to revisions and modifications in program development and expansion, functioning, implementation, and requirements;

  6. The successful completion of students with ID from the program; and

  7. The successful and paid employability of students with ID from the program.

 

Contacts

DeanGarcia

Delia C. Garcia
Dean
College of Education, FIU
ZEB 320
garciad@fiu.edu

Valle-Riestra

Diana Valle-Riestra
Assistant Professor of Special Education & Principal Investigator
Department of Teaching and Learning, College of Education, FIU
ZEB 247B
riestrad@fiu.edu

Niguidula

Amanda L. Niguidula
Director
Disability Resource Center (DRC)
GC 190
website: drc.fiu.edu

Brookner

Jill Brookner
Transition Supervisor
Division of Special Education, M-DCPS
jbrookner@dadeschools.net

Sierra

Rene Sierra
M-DCPS Project Coordinator
sierra@dadeschools.net
sierrare@fiu.edu

IsabelGarcia

Isabel Garcia
Exectuive Director
Parent to Parent of Miami, Inc.
igarcia@ptopmiami.org

 

NickChang

Nick Chang
Transition Specialist
Miami-Dade County Public Schools
nchang@dadeschools.net